jump to navigation

Personal Website Status 11 May 2010

Posted by elisemchisholm in Websites.
trackback

Brand positioning: My tagline is in development. I want the design to balance creativity and professionalism.

Visual appeal: The theme I’ve selected is called Color Paper. I’m working to adapt it for my portfolio site. I plan to include images of my work samples as well as a few images that convey my personality/interests.

Navigation/organization: I’ve inserted the following page headers at top: Bio, Services, Portfolio, and Contact. I’ve also inserted the following subpages under my Portfolio parent page: Marketing Programs, Media Results, and Writing Samples. My theme includes a vertical menu that I’d like to customize if possible.

Written content: I plan to keep body copy concise and conversational in tone.

Presentation/quality of work samples: I’d like to show images of 15-20 work samples and provide easily readable text below in a standard font.

Special features/functionality:

I’ve added the plugins below to date.

  • Akismet – checks your comments against the Akismet web service to see if they look like spam or not
  • Featured Content Gallery – used to create a customizable rotating image gallery anywhere within your site
  • Google XML Sitemaps – generates a special XML sitemap that helps search engines like Google, Yahoo and Bing to better index your blog
  • LinkedIn Resume – displays your LinkedIn resume on your blog
  • Twitter Tools – provides integration between your WordPress blog and Twitter
  • YouTube Brackets – allows you to insert YouTube videos within blog posts using the bracket method

I’d like my Portfolio pages to be password protected if possible.

Next steps: My current priority is to adapt my theme – I need it to align more closely with the purpose of my website. Once I’ve accomplished this task, I’ll revisit functionality. Finally, I’ll develop and insert content.

Comments»

1. Summary : WordPress Themes & Plugins « Web Tools For The Digital World - 12 May 2010

[…] Elise : FatCow – no link  (Color Paper, several plugins) […]

2. Summary : WordPress Themes & Plugins « COM585 - 13 September 2011

[…] Elise : elisechisholm.net (Color Paper, several plugins) […]


Leave a Reply

